WIAW #20 Quinoa Pizza Base ~ Gluten-free and NO soaking!

WIAW

Happy Wednesday guys! Linking up to Peas and Crayons and all the other What I ate Wednesday bloggers!

Today’s recipe was last week AND last nights dinner and it was A-mazing both times!! It was the first time I used quinoa as my pizza base last week as I have used cauliflower and buckwheat in the past so was *super* excited to try this recipe. I scoured the internet to find a quick and easy one as I am not a fan of having to wait overnight when I wanted the pizza now! You can pick this pizza up like regular pizza, no knives and forks required *mini fist pump* 🙂

The recipe for the base is from The Wholesome Dish, she made a super garlic and cheese ‘bread’ with hers. I will definitely be doing this soon. Go check her site out, it rocks! But first here is breakfast lunch and snacks!

Breakfast: Breakfast was buckwheat flakes with almond milk – I am LOVING these at the moment. So crunchy and tasty –> wheat and gluten-free too!!

Buckwheat flakes

Lunch: As I was getting over the vomiting bug (sorry!) I was easing myself back in to food and made a yummy batch of homemade vegetable soup. 1 onion, 2 carrots, stem of broccoli (stringy outwear layer removed) 1 beef tomatoe, 1 knorr stock pot and 1 litre hot water. Delicious!

Vegetable Soup

Snacks: I had a craving for fruit after my sickness (any theories on this please comment below 😉 ) I had a mandarin and some cashew nuts.

Mandarin

And Finally Dinner!! The SCRUMPTIOUS quinoa base pizza that’s like real pizza (I swear!) Change up toppings to your liking. Next time I am going to try some sundried tomatoes, feta and chorizo.

Gluten free pizza

Ingredients:

½ cup quinoa
2 tsp olive oil
1 cup water
2 large eggs
½ tsp garlic salt
½ tsp dried oregano leaves
½ tsp dried basil leaves
½ tsp baking powder
½ cup low fat mozzarella or cheddar if you prefer

Pizza Sauce
1/2 cup of passata
1 tbsp tomato puree / paste
1/2 tsp dried oregano
Freshly ground black pepper

Toppings 
1 ball of low fat mozzarella – grated
1/2 red onion – sliced
1/2 red pepper – sliced
5 slices turkey and pork salami – shredded
Baby spinach leaves – shredded (I add this just before serving so they are uncooked)

 Instructions:

Rinse the quinoa in a sieve under cold running water to remove any residue.

Heat one teaspoon of olive oil in a pan and add the drained quinoa, move around in the oil to toast. Cook for around 5-7 minutes until they are fragrant.

Next add in the cup of water and bring to the boil. Once boiling turn the heat to a simmer and cover. Cook for 10-15 minutes. Remove the lid for a few minutes to ‘dry’ out the quinoa. Pour in to a bowl and allow to cool slightly (10 minutes at least) Prepare your pizza sauce while waiting – combine all the pizza sauce ingredients together in a bowl and whisk so there are no lumps from the tomato puree (paste)

Preheat your oven to 420’F / 210C – THIS IS IMPORTANT as I FORGOT when I made this first time round *oooops!* It didn’t affect the pizza once cooked, I just had to cook the base for an extra 20 minutes to get the desired texture!

Place some baking parchment or greaseproof paper on to a baking tray.

In a bowl mix together the quinoa, mozzarella, herbs, garlic, eggs and remaining oil, combine well.

Spray the baking parchment with some oil or brush on some extra olive oil then place your mixture in the centre. Using your hands is the best way as it will only stick to utensils!

Quinoa pizza

*The patches are where I spayed some oil so my baking parchment would stay on the tray*

Flatten out to your desired shape, I went with the traditional pizza shape.

quinoa pizza base

Bake for 20 minutes until the edges are nicely browning, remove then add your pizza sauce and toppings and bake for a further 15-20 minutes

Gluten free pizza baseI added chopped baby spinach leaves just before serving and some more dried oregano.

Gluten free pizzaI let the hubby have the last slice 🙂

Gluten free pizza base

I have a lot of recipes to get up such as cajun baked salmon with cauli-mash and broccoli, chicken and vegetable stew and I am making some chickpea smashed guacamole for lunch today. All coming soon. I also have some exciting news on the horizon about Queen Bee’s Kitchen, all will be revealed in time. So for now don’t forget to pop over to Peas and Crayons and check out the other food bloggers. Happy Wednesday and happy eating!

S x

Leave a Reply

