Easy peasy gluten-free pizza base – WIAW #15

Hello and welcome to my 15th edition of What I Ate Wednesday. I have missed a few weeks and I do apologize… πŸ™‚

This weeks post has the recipe for my super easy pizza base – crispy and thin the way I like my pizza BUT also gluten-free YAY! It is very similar to my buckwheat naan bread recipe Β from Monday. Yes just THREE ingredient gluten-free pizza base πŸ™‚ No cauliflower or eggs in sight πŸ˜€

Ingredients

  • 1 cup / 140g buckwheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Sauce & Toppings

  • 1/2 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • turkey salami
  • low fat mozzarella – grated
  • 1 red onion – sliced
  • 1/2 yellow or red pepper – sliced

Method:

  1. In a bowl mix the flour, oil and water in to a soft-ish dough
  2. Roll between two sheets of parchment paper to 1cm thin and bake in a preheated oven on a pizza stone or baking sheet for 15 minutes
  3. To make the tomato sauce whizz tomatoes and tomato paste together, add the garlic and oregano and taste
  4. After the 15 minutes remove the pizza and top with sauce leaving a border around the edges about 1 inch thick
  5. Top with the vegetable, salami and cheese and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until it is golden and bubbling

How easy is that?! No sloppy pizza that has to be eaten with a knife and fork, it can be picked up the same way as ‘normal’ pizza. As you have guessed I am obsessed with buckwheat, it has a distinct but great flavor. More to come on my buckwheat obsession πŸ™‚

Below is the rest of my WIAW…..

Breakfast: Buckwheat banana and hazelnut bread with raspberry jam

20140312-114251.jpg

Lunch: Vegetable soup

Dinner: Buckwheat pizza – apologies for the photo it is awful!!

Buckwheat pizza

Linking up to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons !

What’s your favorite pizza toppings?

Are you obsessed with one ingredient at the moment?

What’s your go to ingredient for a quick dinner?

2 thoughts on “Easy peasy gluten-free pizza base – WIAW #15

  1. I made the buckwheat pizza last night and it’s delicious. I’m not sure if I added too much water but my ‘dough’ was quite wet so I greased the baking dish and literally spread the ‘dough’ directly on to the dish, put on my toppings and baked. I found it was easier then trying to roll it in the parchment paper.

Leave a Reply

