What I Ate Wednesday #4

what i ate wednesday october breast cancer awareness halloween button

Happy Hump Day! πŸ˜€

I spent the entire weekend cooking and baking so I have some great goodies for #WIAW today. Big shout out to our wonderful host Jenn for starting the party!

Breakfast: 2 Free Range Eggs Scrambles with some Parmesan, paprika and freshly ground black pepper served with cherry tomatoes on the vine and fresh parsley

20131023-103203.jpg

Lunch: Smoked Coley and Leek Chowder (not a hint of cream in sight!)

Cream free Gluten free smoked coley and leek chowder

Cream free Gluten free smoked coley and leek chowder

Dinner: Gluten Free Mighty Moussaka

Scrummy Moussaka

Scrummy Moussaka

Snacks / Treats: Pumpkin Slices – inspired by Madison’s recipe at Eating4BalanceΒ – they are sooooo good! My first time baking with Pumpkin too. I was well impressed πŸ™‚

20131023-103300.jpg 20131023-103315.jpg 20131023-112643.jpg

Gluten free but notΒ Guilt Free Banoffee – Base made with dates and mixed nuts πŸ˜€

20131023-112816.jpg 20131023-112829.jpg 20131023-112839.jpg

Drinks: Raspberry & Limoncello Daiquiris πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

No photos unfortunately!

Hope you enjoy #WIAW this week and don’t forget to pop over to Peas and Crayons and see what other bloggers are eating. Recipes for all the above will be up soon.

10 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #4

  1. That moussaka looks tasty! I love moussaka πŸ™‚

    I am SO glad that your adapted version of my pumpkin bars worked out for you. Especially since it was your first time baking with pumpkin (how it that possible?!) I would have hated for the recipe to not work out and for pumpkin to be tainted in your sight. Ha. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh My God Madison they were so nice!:) I didn’t have coconut flour so used extra almond flour and I used and egg instead of the flaxseed as I couldn’t get my hands on any of that either (Our supermarkets are not the best!) I ate two in a row still warm and one for breakfast from the fridge the next day – wow! Im thinking of adding nuts to my next batch? Thanks so much for introducing me to it haha πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • Orginially I was going to use eggs in the recipe too, but then when I got home for the weekend from school we were all out. Better for me I guess with egg allergies so I didn’t have to keep on washing my hands. Haha. But really, that’s one of the main reasons why a lot of my recipes are vegan- we’re always running out of eggs!

        Adding nuts to the bars would be amazing! I’m thinking of making a nut-based crust base to pour the batter into before cooking for a more authentic pumpkin pie-type dessert. We’ll see how it goes!

  2. Spending the whole weekend in the kitchen sounds pretty good and it looks like it was well worth it.
    [Veganized] Moussaka has been on my list of foods to try for ages. And Madison’s pumpkin slices sound great, too.

    • Hi Amy
      Traditional moussaka has a Bechamel Sauce topping which is made with white flour but I used rice flour so this one is gluten free yay! I use lean steak mince whereas the traditional recipe uses lamb mince so it’s a Queen Bees Moussaka πŸ˜‰ Recipe will be up soon, it does take time but definitely worth it πŸ˜ƒ I’m going to make it for dinner tomorrow again it’s soooo good ❀️ Thanks for popping by

Leave a Reply

